CS Mailu inaugurates pharmacy board of director | Blog

CS Mailu inaugurates pharmacy board of director← Back

 The Pharmacy and Poisons Board has a new Board of Directors.  The Cabinet Secretary for Health, Dr. Cleopa Mailu inaugurated the eight members Board on 21 March 2017 to oversee all aspects of governance, contract management and service development.
The CS urged the new Board to avoid conflict of interest and focus on strategies that will promote and protect public health. The mandate of PPB is to promote and protect public health by ensuring that medicines, medical devices and other health technologies are safe, efficacious and of accepted quality.
“You must embrace technology, build capacity within the board, cultivate trust with all stakeholders, and maintain standards and efficiency to be able to achieve the board’s mandate” the CS stressed.
He advised the Board to focus on the health of the public by ensuring no substandard medicines get to the country, only appropriate medicines and outlets are registered, encourage good manufacturing practices and investment in local industries to control prices of medicines. 
The newly elected members of the Pharmacy and Poisons Board of management are the chairman Dr. Jackson Kioko, Dr. Kipkerich Chuma Koskei the Chief Pharmacist, Dr. Kisa Juma Ngeiywa Director of Veterinary Services, Dr. Alfred Rugendo Birichi, Dr. Mary Nthambi Kisingu, Dr. Rogers Atebe, Dr. Edith Wakori and Mr. Abdi Omar Jama. They will serve for a period of three years. 


There are no comments

Posting comments after three months has been disabled.